How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Blog

How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Blog

My name is Matt, and I write things.

I’ve done many writing-related things over the course of my life. They include columnist, web content creator, book reviewer, freelance writer, script writer and professional writer. I think I liked the last one best, since someone gave me money to do it.

Don’t get me wrong. I love the art of writing, too. I just like the idea of pursuing it as art and getting paid at the same time.

The one thing I’ve never been, though, is a blogger.

When people ask what I am, I generally say “professional writer,” despite the fact that no one is currently giving me money to do it. People are always quick to point out that I’m not a currently being paid, so I’m not a professional. But I defend that, technically, most people are only being paid every two weeks anyway, and no one claims they’re only a professional every fourteen days. Or when I’m feeling less eloquent, “Hush your face.”

The thing is, I don’t have anything against blogging. I even did it here and there back in the day. There’s just something about the term “blogger” that robs you of any legitimacy as a writer. It’s probably that anyone who can work a keyboard can make a blog consisting of one post about how their zucchini is doing this year and then claim to be one. In short, that club is a little too easy to get into to want to be a part of.

Alas, though, I’ve finally reached the point where I haven’t got much choice.

I like writing. And I have to do it from time to time for the sake of my mental wellness. Otherwise the absurdity of day to day life just sort of builds up. It’s like plaque in your arteries, except for your mind. I’ve never let it build up long enough to see if it’s fatal, but it’s unpleasant nonetheless.

At the moment I’m not feeling quite adventurous enough to dive into a fully fleshed out website. Anyone familiar with the last one’s demise knows that by the last few weeks of working on it, I was spending ten hours a day just trying to keep it from being blacklisted because someone managed to put malicious code into the HTML somewhere. Oh, and if I had an hour or two after that I might actually, you know, write something.

So for now at least, this is the only way I have to scratch my itch.

You may also notice (if you were around for the previous site) that I’ve changed the name. The short reason is that I inevitably got sick of being called arrogant for using the term Nerd Empire, even when I wasn’t the one who came up with it. The site was originally meant to have seven separate people providing content in our own little Empire, with me owning the domain and thus, being Nerd Emperor. And that would’ve been very clever. Then they everyone else bailed and it got sad instead.

The other main reason is that I want to break away from the previous format. I am, by nature, a very random person. I like video games. I like anime. I like movies. But I also like cooking, gardening, parenting and making political observations. My original title was going to be Nerd Sequitur, which again, was very clever. Only, it would be much too hard to spell and difficult for anyone to ever find if they came looking for it. Later ideas, such as Nerd Lieutenant, Nerd Rhythm and Nerd Episcopalian were thrown out for similar reasons.

For now, writing means being a blogger. And I’m okay with that. Because in the end, all I ever really wanted to do in life was write. So that’s what I’m going to do.

Oh, and my zucchini plants are doing amazingly, by the way.

Leave a Reply

